polka-dot-heels

I just had to say no to these adorable polka dotted shoes.

I did it. Over the Christmas/New Year’s Eve break I resisted the urge to buy a new pair of shoes. I had some support from a friend, but I think all addicts have to start somewhere.

I was in Forever 21 shopping with said friend. She was looking for a New Year’s outfit, I was along for support. Or so I thought. I saw them from across the store: pink platform heels with black polka dots. If you follow me on Pinterest, you will know that I have been OBSESSING over polka dots lately. So naturally I had to have them.

But I also knew we were about to go snowboarding and we just spent all our money on Christmas. So I carried them around with me for a bit. I even texted a picture to my husband to gauge what he would say if I did buy them. The response was less than enthused. And my shopping buddy warned that he would never let me hang out with her again if I came home with shoes.

So I sighed and put them back, and walked slowly away, facing them the whole time. It was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do in my life. But it was a big accomplishment and I’m really proud at the steps I’ve been taking! So remember, when you can’t walk away from a pair of shoes, dig deep, get some help and move on.

Until next time, shoe lovers!

