It’s no secret that a lot of things are manufactured outside of the United States these days. For me, it’s a double-edged sword; on one hand, I consider the low prices, but to be honest I’ve had family members lose jobs because of outsourcing. And the shoe industry is no exception.

shoes-closet-manufacturing

I don’t believe any of my shoes are made in the Unites States.

When I worked at Dick’s Sporting Goods, there was one shoe in the entire store that was made in the United States. Amazing. But not surprising. While I don’t expect things to change any time soon, I did come across a very interesting article at work a few days ago.

The American Apparel and Footwear Association (AAFA) stated that there was a “7.9  percent surge in domestic footwear manufacturing…in 2011” according to AAFA President and CEO Kevin Burke in a 4-traders AAFA article. Interesting. Not a huge number, but one that I didn’t expect. Burke also stated that the U.S. footwear industry accounts for “more than one million U.S. workers”.

I think this a good thing. If it means jobs, I’ll pay a little bit more for my Steve Maddens, albeit grudgingly.

The number that did surprise me was this: the U.S. volume consumption for footwear in 2011 was down 3.8 percent, or 21.8 billion pairs of shoes. I thought my addiction alone would have taken this number a different direction…

For more information, check out the AAFA article at http://www.4-traders.com/news/AAFA-American-Apparel-and-Footwear-Association-AAFA-Releases-ShoeStats-2012-Report–15222962/.

