When we were packing for our honeymoon, I pulled out the big suitcase and got down to business. My husband got a funny look on his face and said, “Why do you need the big suitcase? Are you bringing that many clothes?”

Hell no. I’m bringing that many shoes.

The thing is, I didn’t really know what to expect when  we got to our destination (Punta Cana in the Dominican Republic). And the obvious thing to do was to bring a pair for every day we would be there. So I brought seven pairs.

I brought three pairs of heels (for dinner and “going out”), a pair of running shoes that I traveled in, wedges, flats (just in case I wanted something cute but didn’t feel like heels), and of course flip-flops.

And I wore six out of the seven, too, so clearly I needed all of them. The thing is, you don’t know what you’re going to face, what you will do, or what mood you’ll be in; so I prepped for all.

My husband thinks I’m crazy. So does one of the local girls that lives there. I don’t really care. If I didn’t have all of them, I would have wished I did.

On a side note, the honeymoon was unbelievable, with or without the shoes!

Tyler and I the first night there. I wore my black pumps.

