I bought a pair of shoes today as a birthday present to my brother. Not even two minutes after the transaction went through my bank, I received a text message from my husband which read: “What did you buy??” Yes, with two question marks.

When I called him to tell him that it was just a gift and to question why he was in such a hurry to know why I spent $50, his answer was, “I’m just making sure my shoe-addict wife isn’t spending more money on her cravings.”

I got a good laugh, at my own expense granted, but a laugh nonetheless. And what’s even funnier is, even though my brother isn’t near as addicted as I am, he’s getting pretty bad about shoes, too.

Sweet new kicks for my brother only help him to get in better shape.

Here’s the thing: I’m not supporting or encouraging another person’s addiction when I buy him or her a pair of athletic shoes (yes, I bought him so Nike Lunar Edge Trainers for weight-lifting). I’m simply encouraging the athlete in others; I’m helping them lead a healthier life.

Good reasoning right? I mean, it’s not my fault if, in trying to help out my fellow human being, someone else happens to get addicted to the very “drug” I’m sharing, right?

