I was just sitting on my couch, thinking about something I said to a friend, when the thought came to me: do the shoes define the person?

It’s an interesting question. A few days ago, a friend of mine and I were chatting about size; I wear a 9 1/2 sometimes a 10, she wears a 7. I made the comment that at least she could wear heels and not look like an Amazon woman. The funny thing is she’s a different person than I am an would never wear heels.

Since I have so many pairs, does that mean I have multiple personalities?

So here I am, wondering if you can tell what kind of personality a person has by their shoes. Can you look at a girl walking down the street and judge her by the preppy, business-like heels she’s wearing? Do you know that a guy wearing old, worn-out tennis shoes has better things to do?

Maybe. I like to think you pick out shoes for a reason. For example, my friend who inspired this thought train wears cowgirl boots and tennis shoes. In fact, she laughed at the thought of heels. That says to me she cares more about being comfortable and not about going out of her way to be prim and proper.

Now I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with heels. In fact, I think it’s kind of funny that she scoffed at them being as how I wear them all the time and to be honest I love them for their style not because I’m trying to catch eyes.

But I am saying that shoes say a lot about a person and their choices. Think about it; look in your closet and see what you decided to buy and reflect on your personality. Notice anything?

