I can’t count how many times I’ve been asked where the shoes that Peyton Manning wears are (Reebok Zigs); if I had a dime for every customer who came in and requested the Derek Rose shoes, I’d be rich. From Air Jordan’s to Uggs (recently promoted by Tom Brady), celebrity endorsed shoes are by far the most sought after.

Why? We worship these people. MJ is the king of basketball and his shoes are nothing short of glorious. Who wouldn’t want to be like him? While Uggs are already a huge cultural phenomenon, Brady makes them that much better.

I would rather wear my ASICS for running than Zigs, i don't care how cool Peyton Manning is.

 

Perhaps we believe that if we wear the same shoes as these people we can run farther and ump higher. Perhaps we believe that we will someday be just as much a part of the public eye.

Of course, most of these shoes have their place: basketball on the court, running shoes on the field. But what happens when celebrity style outdoes our need for comfort and support?

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE Air Jordan’s, perhaps more so because I worship the man himself. But do I really need them? No. Do you?

