Left to right: Josh Mielke, Cassie, Payden Mielke, and Tyler. We were lucky enough to be joined by my brothers on this hike!

Get used to it, I’m  ALWAYS going to be adding new shoes to my collection. As an addict, I don’t know where to stop. But this time, I bought a pair that was incredibly sensible for a lot of things, not just a pair that makes my legs look nice.

I bought a pair of Merrell Avian Light hikers. And they are bomb-diggity.

I bought these shoes because my fiancé and I decided on a whim to hike Mt. Bierstadt, a Colorado 14er, on the 4th of July. not wanting to repeat my Mt. Princeton experience (hiking in running shoes), I got some Merrells. And it was TOTALLY worth it.

What I love about the Avian Lights is that they are incredibly comfortable. With Ortho technology in the sole, they feel like you are walking on a thin layer of memory foam. It makes them incredibly comfy to walk in, especially if you are facing a seven mile hike up a brutal mountain.

But I also like that they weigh next to nothing. Most hiking shoes weigh a lot simply because they are made so heavy and durable. But these feel like running shoes on your feet. So they feel like comfy running shoes but give you the durability and traction of a hiker.

These are perfect for any kind of hike, especially a Colorado one!

