It seems contradictory, and I’m  going to guess that my few readers would never think they would hear me say it, but I’m going to: sometimes, you just don’t need shoes.

A perfect end to a perfect day: barefoot.

Remember the days when you ran around barefoot? When the mud gushed through your toes and you could feel the coolness of it? Remember how summer grass feels? Sometimes, going back to the most natural state of walking around is just so…soothing.

When I’m feeling tired after a long day of wearing so-so shoes on a cement floor and have walked up and down the stairs a million times, and my feet are screaming to be comforted, I strip them down to the bones and relax outside with a glass of wine. I let my toes soak up the grass blades, let them absorb the sun rays, and watch the bugs crawl across them.

It can be so nice just to be without shoes because then, truly then, you let your feet breathe. They inhale with you. They remind you of being young and careless. They don’t have to deal with the pressures that a job and heels put them through. Like you, sometimes your feet just need a break.

Like you, they need to be naked, free of societies constraints.

When they feel so overwhelmed that they just can’t take it anymore, release your feet from the leather, the suede, the mesh. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed.

