Ladies, ever feel like the only place you belong in the gym are the exercise bikes, treadmills, and yoga floors? This doesn’t apply to all women; in fact most are go-getters, but for the vast majority of our sex, we are timid when it comes to lifting weights.

Today, I ventured into the weight section of the gym I just joined yesterday. As someone with experience with weights, I wanted to see what it has to offer. What I got was a plethora of stares from the roiders in the area. They all looked at me like I was crazy for going over there. I mean, I have stick arms and a tiny upper body (believe me, the badonkadonk is NOT lacking) but that doesn’t mean I don’t know what I’m doing.

The truth is, you don’t have to lift a ton of weight. It’s a great way to tone your muscle while getting you stronger. So, how do we as a gender avoid the stigma of women being alien in the weight room?

Prove to those guys you know good technique. Hire a trainer to teach you the proper lifts and forms. It’s ok to start small because you won’t get hurt. Once you demonstrate how confident you are and that you are stronger than you appear, their stares will take a different tone, if you get my drift.

 

