I ran a marathon. 26 miles. From Crested Butte to Gunnison. And it wasn’t easy.

It took me all summer to prepare for it, and I still could have done more, or done things a little differently. But to be honest, it was fun. That’s right, fun. Running on a road that revealed all of nature’s beauty was incredibly touching as well as distracting.

The leaves had begun to change, there were not very many cars, it was in the morning so the frost was cooling and refreshing. To be honest, it was one of the most amazing experiences I’ve ever had.

Once I was done, it was painful, yet thrilling. I felt incredibly powerful and strong despite my weak knees. I felt as if I had conquered the world. I know it sounds cliche, but it truly felt that way. I was on such a body high that I felt I couldn’t get enough.

It isn’t for everyone. But it can be if you really want it bad enough.

