I have been looking for a job since January. It’s alomst September. I can’t even count how man cover letters I’ve sent in, how many times I’ve updated my resume, or how many emails I’ve sent starting with “To Whom It May Concern”. And so far I’ve had just a few bites and still no job.

But I won’t give up. While unemployment rates have steadily increased over the past few years, it seems to have tapered off in the past year. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), 14.6 million people are unemployed as of July 2010.

But I won’t give up. Because that same report stated that the number has remained unchanged in the past couple months. That has to give people like me some hope right?

The fact of the matter is that everyone and their brother is looking for  job right now. It seems that for every job I’ve applied for, another hundred have done the same thing.

And this brings me around to linking this epidemic to Wiley Western Women. It isn’t just women suffering from unemploment, nor is it just men. We are all in this together. So what do we do?

We update our resume for the twentieth time and keep trying, because what else does a girl (or guy) gotta do?

